Week 11 & 12: Cliche Confessing

Old habits die hard. You can’t teach an old dog new tricks. A leopard can’t changes its spots.

I’d like to tell a tall tale, and proclaim, I’m the exception to these cliches. But I am writing my cliché confession with my head hung in shame…I am a recovering habitual food waster, and I’ve slipped back to my old wasteful ways.

These past two weeks, my trash can has been full. 3 or 4 different bags of beans…(to be fair the magician is severely allergic), cucumbers, a pair of pears, what else? Peppers. I even think a rotten tomato slipped in there. To some people, this is probably nothing. An occurrence that is normal. Routine. To me, this waste feels wrong. So wrong in fact, that I have procrastinated writing this post. I told you…my head is hung in shame.

This summer has been brutal. Today will mark our 66th day here in Austin that will reach over 100 degrees. It’s absurd, seriously absurd. Meanwhile, the dedicated farmers in our area have strived to produce quality, fresh, beautiful food for people who appreciate their efforts. The food we eat represents something greater than our daily required nutrients. It connects us with the people who grow it and our dessert-like soil that enriches it.

Their efforts are meaningful, and the fruits of their labor deserve so much more respect than carelessly throwing their food down the disposal. So I’m hitting my restart button, and I urge you to join me. I am going to stop letting my wasteful habits die hard, and I am turning over a new leaf.

4 Comments

Filed under Challenge, Outside the Box

4 responses to “Week 11 & 12: Cliche Confessing

  1. Marguerite Krenek

    Good on you, Miss Spoon. I will strive to do the same. Agree the heat is making us all crazy and dehydrating our brain cells. This fall will be hopefully more motivating for spending time in the kitchen with luscious produce.

  2. Lisa

    Don’t forget about composting what does go bad! 🙂

Leave a Reply

