The New Challenge…for now

To my disappointment, I had to abandon my year-long Farmhouse Delivery challenge when I left Austin. No one could recommend a similar all-local delivery service here. (On the upside, I think I missed the bulk of beet season!) Luckily for me, Farmhouse recently announced they were setting up shop in H-town. So when I ditch the suburbs for a hip, inner-loop locale, I’ll re-join and pick up where I left off with my challenge.

My first box!

In the meantime, you’ll have to follow me on the long road to the The Food Experiment National Championship. There is no theme for this final showdown. The only rule is to cook “The Perfect Bite.” And, oh the choices…and the intimidation! The only thing I know is that I want to create Texas flavors with local, seasonal New York ingredients. Something warm, something hearty, something delicious. That really narrows it down, right?

For a little Texas inspirado, I bought Robb Walsh’s new book over the weekend, Texas Eats: The New Lone Star Heritage Cookbook. It’s my new kitchen bible. He masterfully crafts together his rough history of Lone Star cuisine through stories of Texas legends and beautiful recipes.

I look forward to reading it cover to cover. And hopefully, Mr. Walsh will spark my experimentation imagination.

Leave a comment

Filed under Challenge, The Food Experiment

Leave a Reply

